08 October 2010

The National Highway Visitors Safe practices Administration rolls out a new wellbeing rating {system|program|method

The Nationwide Highway Traffic Safety Administration rolls out a new security ranking program Tuesday -- 1 with much more rigorous requirements.

"More stars equal safer automobiles," Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood said inside a statement.

"With our upgraded Five-Star Safety Ratings Program, we're raising the bar on security. By means of new exams, much better crash information, and larger requirements, we are making the security rankings harder and much more significant for buyers."

The security rankings range from 1 to five stars, with five stars becoming the highest.

The company will release on Tuesday the rankings for the first 2011-model-year automobiles evaluated beneath the new program -- 55 total: 24 passenger automobiles, 20 SUVs, two vans and 9 pickups.

"For over 30 years, NHTSA's 5-star crash testing program has been the gold normal for buyers looking to acquire the most secure automobiles on the marketplace for his or her households," NHTSA Administrator David Strickland said in July when the new program was announced.

"Now, this fantastic program has gotten even much better by making it less difficult to compare the security efficiency of automobiles not merely in terms of crash survivability, but in terms of avoiding crashes within the first place."

The new rankings will include an total automobile score, which combines the results of a frontal crash test, side crash exams and rollover resistance exams. For the first time, the test also will use feminine crash test dummies to similate issues that have an effect on ladies.

Related articles:
why women are better drivers

senior drivers pay more for car insurance

young people buy fewer cars

No comments:

Post a Comment